Amplifier for Art, Science and Society
  • Events

EPFL Pavilions est maintenant ouvert: Nature of Robotics

Location

Pavillon B

Mercredi
3.3.
11:00
 
 
Dimanche
25.4.21
11:00

Penser la robotique dans son lien à l'environnement.
Durant l’hiver 2020, EPFL Pavilions consacre son programme au thème de la robotique afin de susciter une réflexion sur les perspectives et scénarios émergents de ce domaine en pleine expansion.

La prémisse de Nature of Robotics est d'offrir un regard non conventionnel sur le sujet de la robotique et d'étendre sa compréhension à des notions plus larges, situées à la frontière entre la science et les arts visuels. À travers les travaux d'artistes et les productions scientifiques des laboratoires de l'EPFL, Nature of Robotics invite à une réflexion sur la place des agents artificiels dans nos écosystèmes naturels et sociaux. Observateurs prudents et créateurs inventifs, artistes et scientifiques explorent les complexités de nos environnements, magnifiant notre observation, notre connaissance et notre imagination des écosystèmes hybrides, passés et futurs.



Artistes et scientifiques :


Haseeb Ahmed, Claudia Comte, Alexandra Daisy Ginsberg, Agnes Denes, Melissa Dubbin & Aaron S. Davidson, Urs Fischer, Basim Magdy, Jürg Lehni, Adrien Missika, Katja Novitskova, Trevor Paglen, Léa Pereyre & PATHOS, Jean Tinguely, Suzanne Treister.


EPFL School of engineering: Biorobotics Laboratory (BioRob), Prof. Auke Ijspeert; Soft Transducers Lab (LMTS), Prof. Herbert Shea; MicroBioRobotic Systems (MICROBS) Laboratory, Prof. Selman Sakar; Reconfigurable Robotics Laboratory (RRL).

Commissaire: Giulia Bini

Amplifier for Art, Science and Society
  • Visits

Nature of Robotics extended until May 16

Location

Pavilion B

Wednesday
3.3.
11:00
 
 
Sunday
16.5.21
11:00

Framing robotics in environment-related thinking.
EPFL Pavilions is devoting its winter programme to the theme of robotics, reflecting on the emerging perspectives and scenarios of this rapidly expanding field.

The premise behind Nature of Robotics is to offer an unconventional look at the subject of robotics and to extend its understanding into broader notions, situated at the frontier between science and the visual arts. Through artists’ works and scientific productions from EPFL laboratories, Nature of Robotics invites contemporary reflection on the place of artificial agents in our natural and social ecosystems. Visions emerging from the laboratories are juxtaposed with speculative creatures, drawings, diagrams, and videos produced by contemporary artists. Cautious observers and inventive creators, artists and scientists explore the complexities of our environments, magnifying our observation, knowledge and imagination of past and future hybrid ecosystems.



Artists and scientists:


Haseeb Ahmed, Claudia Comte, Alexandra Daisy Ginsberg, Agnes Denes, Melissa Dubbin & Aaron S. Davidson, Urs Fischer, Basim Magdy, Jürg Lehni, Adrien Missika, Katja Novitskova, Trevor Paglen, Léa Pereyre & PATHOS, Jean Tinguely, Suzanne Treister.


School of Engineering EPFL: Prof. Auke Jispert’s Biorobotics Laboratory (BioRob), Prof. Herbert Shea’s Soft Transducers Lab (LMTS), Prof. Selman Sakar’s MicroBioRobotic Systems (MICROBS) Laboratory, Prof Jamie Paik’s Reconfigurable Robotics Lab (RRL).


Curator: Giulia Bini