Amplifier for Art, Science and Society
  • Screening

Cinéma open air: GIFF PLUG x EPFL ARTLAB

Location

AGORA Lombard Odier (Plan)

Jeudi
17.
20:00
 
 
Vendredi
25.9.20
20:00

Après plusieurs semaines sans offre culturelle, ArtLab fête la rentrée avec un cinéma open air, au cœur du campus de l’EPFL. Quatre soirées de projection sous les étoiles, articulées sur 2 programmes, avec une programmation 100% science et technologies faite sur mesure par le GIFF – Geneva international film festival.

bande annonce de l'évènement

Programmation

17 et 25 septembre, 20h

KIDS

Michael Frei / 9 min / 2019 / Suisse / animation / vo

Comment nous définissons-nous lorsque nous sommes tou·te·s égaux·ales ? Qui dirige la foule ? Et si elle allait dans la mauvaise direction ? Où l’individu finit-il et où le groupe commence-t-il ? Que fait-on par choix, et que fait-on sous la contrainte ?

SWATTED

Ismael Joffroy Chandoutis / 21 min / 2018 / France / animation / vo. en / st. fr

‘Swatting’, un phénomène de cyber-harcèlement potentiellement mortel plane sur les joueur·euse·s en ligne chaque fois qu’ils·elles jouent. À travers des vidéos YouTube et des images de synthèse fascinantes, ils·elles décrivent leur lutte entre fascination et horreur.

OPERATION LUNE

William Karel / 52 min / 2002 / France / mockumentaire / vo. fr

Un documentaire d’intrigue, subtil mélange de faits réels, de fiction et d’hypothèses autour d’un événement qui marqua le xxe siècle : la course à la Lune. Richard Nixon était-il prêt à tout pour assurer la suprématie des États-Unis dans la conquête de l’espace ? Y a-t-il vraiment eu des «retransmissions en direct» de la Lune ? Quels liens Stanley Kubrick entretenait-il avec la NASA ? Construit autour de réelles interviews d’Henry Kissinger, Donald Rumsfeld ou Buzz Aldrin, ce film jette le trouble et nous rappelle le pouvoir des images et leur possible manipulation.

18 et 24 septembre, 20h

LITTLE JOE

Jessica Hausner / 105 min / 2019 / France / drame, science-fiction / vo. en / st. fr

Une généticienne met au point une plante capable de rendre ses propriétaires heureux·euse·s. Mais à mesure que la nouvelle espèce grandit, elle découvre que sa création est tout sauf inoffensive. Réflexion dystopique sur le bonheur, Little Joe a valu le Prix d’interprétation féminine du Festival de Cannes à Emily Beecham en 2019. Glaçant.

First open air cinema on the EPFL Campus, September 2020

© Joel Curty

Amplifier for Art, Science and Society
  • Screening

Open air cinema: GIFF PLUG x EPFL ARTLAB

Location

AGORA Lombard Odier (Plan)

Thursday
17.
20:00
 
 
Friday
25.9.20
20:00

Following a time of cultural scarcity, ArtLab is celebrating the start of the new academic year with an open air cinema at the heart of the EPFL campus. Four evenings of screenings under the stars, with a customized program prepared by the GIFF – Geneva International Film Festival, 100% science and technology.

Trailer of the event

The program

September 17 and 25, 20h

KIDS

Michael Frei / 9 mins / 2019 / Switzerland / animation / in English
How do we define ourselves when we’re all equal? Who leads the people? What if they’re going in the wrong direction? Where does the individual end and the group begin? What do we do by choice or under duress?

SWATTED

Ismael Joffroy Chandoutis / 21 mins / 2018 / France / animation / in English with French subtitles

‘Swatting’, a potentially deadly menace of cyber-bullying that hovers over online gamers every time they play. Through YouTube videos and fascinating computer-generated images, they describe their struggle between fascination and horror.

OPERATION LUNE [Dark Side of the Moon]

William Karel / 52 mins / 2002 / France / mockumentary / in French

An intriguing documentary offering a subtle blend between fact, fiction and hypotheses about an event that has marked the twentieth century: the race for the moon. Was Nixon prepared to do anything it took to ensure American supremacy in conquering space? Were there really “live broadcasts” from the Moon? What was Stanley Kubrick’s connection to NASA? Built around real-life interviews with Henry Kissinger, Donald Rumsfeld and Buzz Aldrin, this film stirs things up and reminds us of the power of images and their possible manipulation.

September 18 and 24, 20h

LITTLE JOE

Jessica Hausner / 105 mins / 2019 / France / drama, science fiction / in English with French subtitles

A geneticist develops a plant capable of making its owners happy. But as the new species grows, she realizes her creation is far from harmless. A creepy dystopian reflection on happiness. Emily Beecham won the Cannes Film Festival’s Award for Best Actress in 2019.

First open air cinema on the EPFL Campus, September 2020

© Joel Curty