Amplifier for Art, Science and Society
Exhibition

Digital Dilemmas

Humanitarian Consequences

3.5.14.7.2024

Presented by the EPFL EssentialTech Centre and the ICRC in partnership with the EPFL Center for Digital Trust (C4DT) and EPFL Pavilions, the exhibition Digital Dilemmas: Humanitarian Consequences sheds light on the many digital risks faced by civilians and humanitarian aid workers in conflict zones.


Digital dilemmas: Humanitarian Consequences is an immersive experience in which visitors face some of the digital dilemmas that civilians and humanitarians in conflict zone around the world must confront on a daily basis.


You’ll discover why new technologies can be both a blessing and a curse in the humanitarian world, especially in conflict zones. Digital tools may give access to critical services – but they can also expose personal data, enable surveillance or exacerbate disinformation, making civilians and humanitarians even more vulnerable.


Digital Dilemmas was first presented at the UN headquarters in New York in 2023 in collaboration with the Swiss Confederation. It was subsequently offered to the broader public as an online interactive audiovisual experience. This new edition includes new challenges and is followed by an installation featuring solutions developed by EPFL labs in collaboration with the ICRC and ETH Zurich through the Engineering for Humanitarian Action initiative. At EPFL, this initiative is coordinated by the EssentialTech Centre.


Digital Dilemmas – immersive challenges

  • Disinformation
  • Data Protection
  • Surveillance
  • Civilians in conflict
  • Biometrics
  • Connectivity
  • AI & Deepfakes
  • AI & Weapons
  • AI & Decision Making

Welcome to the complex work of digital dilemmas in humanitarian contexts. What will you do?

Amplifier for Art, Science and Society
Exposition

Digital Dilemmas

Humanitarian Consequences

3.5.14.7.2024

Présentée par le EPFL EssentialTech Centre et le CICR en partenariat avec le EPFL Center for Digital Trust (C4DT) et EPFL Pavilions, l’exposition Digital Dilemmas: Humanitarian Consequences met en lumière les multiples risques numériques qu’encourent les populations civiles et aides humanitaires en zones de conflit.


Digital dilemmas: Humanitarian Consequences est une expérience immersive dans laquelle les visiteur·euses sont confronté·es à certains des dilemmes numériques auxquels les populations civiles et les aides humanitaires doivent faire face quotidiennement dans les zones de conflit du monde entier.


Vous y découvrirez que nouvelles technologies peuvent être à la fois une bénédiction et une malédiction dans le monde humanitaire, en particulier dans les zones de conflit. Les outils numériques donnent accès à des services essentiels, mais ils peuvent aussi exposer des données personnelles, permettre la surveillance ou exacerber la désinformation, ce qui rend ces populations encore plus vulnérables.


Digital dilemmas a été présentée pour la première fois au siège des Nations unies à New York en 2023, en collaboration avec la Confédération suisse. Elle a ensuite été proposée au grand public sous la forme d'une expérience audiovisuelle interactive en ligne. Cette nouvelle édition comprend de nouveaux défis et est suivie d'une installation présentant des solutions développées par les laboratoires de l'EPFL en collaboration avec le CICR et l'ETH Zurich dans le cadre de l'initiative Engineering for Humanitarian Action. A l'EPFL, cette initiative est coordonnée par le Centre EssentialTech.


Digital Dilemmas – défis immersifs

  • Désinformation
  • Protection des données
  • Surveillance
  • Civils dans les conflits
  • Biométrie
  • Connectivité
  • IA & Deepfakes
  • IA et armes
  • IA et prise de décision

Bienvenue dans le monde complexe des dilemmes numériques dans les contextes humanitaires. Que ferez-vous ?